The Sound Post

Home > Online Store > Sheet Music > Browse by Instrument > Viola

Catliène Op.84 for Viola & Piano

  • Price: 17.26 USD
  • Instrument: Viola
  • Sub Category: Viola & Keyboard
  • Composer: Jansa, Léopold
  • Publisher: Schott
  • Publisher Code: 49018098
  • Product #: JANSA001

  • Catliène Op.84 for Viola & Piano published by Schott.

The Bohemian violinist, composer and teacher Leopold Jansa (1795-1875), while largely self-taught, nevertheless succeeded in becoming one of the leading violin virtuosos and teachers of the 19th Century. As a composer Jansa contributed a whole series of works to the chamber music repertoire and naturally wrote many pieces for his own instrument, the violin, with orchestral or piano accompaniment. He also wrote pieces for many other combinations of instruments: some of them simple, other designed for concert performance.

His Duos for two violins or for violin and viola are still popular today as appealing repertoire for teaching purposes and domestic music making. The penultimate opus in his catalogue of works was published in 1866, during Jansa's time in London: Op.84, his Catilène for viola and piano. It is in two parts: first comes a Lento, an expressive slow movement that uses every register on the viola and gives fine opportunity for cantabile playing. The Poco allegro that follows it is a little rondo that offers a playful display of performance skills. Its modest technical demands make this Catilena an ideal piece for teaching purposes or performance.

Return to Viola Category
Catliène Op.84 for Viola & Piano
Catliène Op.84 for Viola & Piano

Click image(s) to enlarge.

Network Solutions Seal Credit Cards