The Sound Post

Home > Online Store > Sheet Music > Browse by Instrument > Chamber Music

Clarinet Quintet in A major, K. 581

  • Price: 22.26 USD
  • Instrument: Chamber Music
  • Sub Category: Strings with Wind/Brass
  • Composer: Mozart, Wolfgang Amadeus
  • Publisher: Henle
  • Editor/Arranger: Wiese, Henrik
  • Publisher Code: 51480769
  • Product #: MOZAR302

  • Clarinet Quintet in A major, K. 581 published by Henle.

    For Clarinet, 2 Violins, Viola & Cello

Ever since Mozart encountered the clarinet in Mannheim in 1778 he loved the instrument's warm and expressive tone. His friendship with Anton Stadler, the clarinetist in the Royal-Imperial Court Orchestra in Vienna, prompted him to compose not only the Clarinet Concerto (K. 622) but also the "Quintet of Quintets", which was written two years before his death. Like almost all his works for the clarinet, this Quintet was probably intended originally for the basset clarinet. However, it survives only in two posthumous prints, both of which call for a standard clarinet. These prints form the basis of our edition. As an added bonus, the appendix contains a fragmentary Allegro in B-flat major for the same combination of instruments. Contains parts for clarinet, two violins, viola and cello.

Return to Chamber Music Category
Clarinet Quintet in A major, K. 581
Clarinet Quintet in A major, K. 581

Click image(s) to enlarge.

Network Solutions Seal Credit Cards